MTA NSW Piano Scholarships – sponsored by the Newcastle Branch

Posted on: 11 August 2018
Loading Map....

11th Aug - 10:00 am - 1:00 pm

Newcastle Conservatorium of Music


Regulations & Conditions – MTA Piano Scholarships NTL

MTA NSW Piano Scholarships, sponsored by the Newcastle Branch

Saturday 11th August 2018, 10am to 1pm at

Harold Lobb Concert Hall, Newcastle Conservatorium of Music

Laman Street Newcastle

For the first time, the scholarships will incorporate both the Nan Price Memorial Scholarship and the Joyce Blewitt Award, providing two competitive sections for young pianists.

Nan Price was a renowned pianist, teacher and examiner who performed often as an accompanist and was an exceptional sight-reader. A graduate of the Conservatorium of Music in Sydney, Price went on to teach at the Conservatorium of Music in Newcastle, having lived there as a child.

Following the establishment of Newcastle’s branch of the Music Teachers’ Association of NSW, Price conducted numerous workshops and masterclasses for the association, which were highly sought after amongst the music community. Her explicit teaching and high standards were key to the success of the workshops. Price was also well-respected for her expertise in performing works by Beethoven.

In Price’s legacy, the Music Teachers’ Association of NSW (Newcastle Branch) established an annual award in her name, awarding over twenty successful recipients since her passing. Alumni of the award include pianists Frances Ross, Michael Power, William Cesta and Nicholas Kennedy who have all gone on to pursue careers in music.

In 2018, The Music Teachers’ Association of NSW is proud to present the piano scholarships as part of the Newcastle Music Festival program. Details of the two divisions and performance requirements will be available via the Newcastle Music Festival and MTA NSW websites.

Joyce Blewitt Award – $15 Registration Fee.  Age 18 years and Under – Grade 8 (or equivalent)

Nan Price Memorial Scholarship – $25 Registration Fee.  Age 21 years and Under – Certificate/Diploma (or equivalent)

The Music Teachers’ Association of NSW will welcome a guest pianist Maria Raspopova who will adjudicate the competition and announce the award winners for 2018.

Attendance is free and all members of the public are welcome.

For entrant registration, visit

For more information, contact Michael Power (