Shirley Paton Scholarship 2021

Posted on: 2 March 2021

Shirley Paton was an extraordinary pianist who achieved recognition early in her career and eventually became a performer for the ABC. As a young student, she won the 1937 Empire Scholarship that enabled her to study for three years at Trinity College London. The Shirley Paton Memorial Scholarship has been created in her memory.

The purpose of the scholarship is to further the career of a promising pianist and provide the means for a series of lessons that will enhance and advance the winner's chances of pursuing a concert career. The suggested  minimum level for entry be Licentiate or equivalent.

Please download the entry requirements, prepare your recording and register online by 1st July 2021.

Please see full details of entry on the Scholarship page for Students.

Member’s Facebook Group

Posted on: 21 September 2020

Join the new member's Facebook page by following the link in the member's area.

2019 Christmas Lunch photos

Posted on: 2 December 2019

The Scholarships Showcase Concert – Zenith Theatre – 30 August 2015

Posted on: 10 September 2015

Eight finalists performed in the Showcase Concert, four in the Elizabeth Todd Lieder Prize in Memory of Geoffrey Parsons, and four in the Margaret Chalmers Memorial Scholarship.

The finalists included in the Lieder section were Ryan O'Donnell and Melissa Field; Laura King and Benjamin Burton; Deepka Ratra and Benjamin Au; and Clare Richards and Paulina Smirnov.

The finalists in the Margaret Chalmers included pianists Joy Yang, Wenny Qu and Maryann Gou and flautist Naomi Ng.
The winners were:

The Elizabeth Todd Lieder Prize with prize money of $2000 to the vocalist and $2000 to the accompanist went to:

Vocalist Clare Richards performing Allerseelen [Strauss] and Gretchen am Spinnrade [Schubert] and Accompanist Paulina

The Margaret Chalmers Memorial Scholarship with prize money of $3000 went to:

Pianist Maryann Gou performing Prelude No.2 [Rachmaninov] and Gnomenreigen [Liszt]

The adjudicators were Dr Christine Logan, Senior Lecturer in Music in the School of the Arts and Media at the University of NSW; Dr William Clark music educator, conductor, lecturer, retired Director of Music of The Scots College and a former MTA President; and Mr Stephen Mould Senior Lecturer in Conducting and Opera Studies and Chair of Opera Production at the Sydney Conservatorium. The adjudicators praised the winners and commented on their performance standard and professionalism.

Needless to say, the winners were delighted with their prize money which will be of great assistance in furthering their music studies.

Although he was unable to attend the concert, MTA Patron Patrick Thomas AM, MBE sent a message that was read to the finalists, part of which is reproduced below:

Many fine artists of today have benefitted from such competitions as the MTA’s, and I would be most grateful if my congratulations and good wishes were conveyed to all who have reached today’s Finals. And to the winners, my hope is that you will continue to work hard, knowing that no matter how naturally gifted you may be, music demands from all its servants, nothing less than total dedication. Yet, in return, its rewards are beyond comparison.

Finalists with adjudicator Mr Stephen Mould

Finalists with adjudicator Mr Stephen Mould who has just announced the winners of the Lieder prize.

MTA President Dr Rita Crews OAM with the winners

MTA President Dr Rita Crews OAM with the winners,
L-R: vocalist Clare Richards and accompanist Paulina Smirnov who won the Lieder prize; pianist Maryann Gou who won the Chalmers prize.

Student Membership Offer

Posted on: 27 May 2015

Are you interested in becoming a music teacher and gaining valuable experience?

Join The Music Teachers’ Association of New South Wales today and gain access to a large range of benefits from Professional Development Workshops,
to learning how to set up and run your own private studio and more!

Receive our special discount offer of $35 for your first year of membership together with a free workshop of your choice (conditions apply) when you sign up.

Click here for more information

Scholarship Showcase Concert Winners

Posted on: 26 August 2013

The Scholarship Showcase Concert has produced the following winners:

Elizabeth Todd Lieder Scholarship in Memory of Geoffrey Parsons
($4000 shared between both performers)
Daniel Nicholson & Melissa Field

Marcus Edwards Violin Scholarship ($1500)
Christine (Hana) King

Margaret Chalmers Memorial Scholarship ($3000)
Georgina Gwatkin-Higson (Flute)

the winners


MTA launches new Website

Posted on: 24 August 2013

Welcome to the new MTA website. The site has been relaunched with a focus on increased usability & accessibility, as well as refreshing the design.

For a limited period of time, the old website may be found at this link: http://old.musicnsw.com.au

If you have any questions or concerns regarding the new site, please use the form below to contact the webmaster. Read the rest of this entry »